Sir Pryce-Jones (1834-1920)

Pioneer of the first international mail order business, his name became a trademark of Newtown

Find out more

John Roberts

The Romani Gypsy harpist was born in 1816 and famed as the country’s leading performer on the Welsh triple harp

Find out more

Robert Owens Tomb

St Mary’s church was built in the 13th century and was Newtown’s parish church for 500 years.

Find out more

The Market Hall

Many were not happy and the scene that followed was one of chaos with crowds shouting

Find out more

The Oriel Gallery

Presenting world-class, thought-provoking and challenging art in an environment that is welcoming, engaging, informative and free

Find out more

The Flannel Exchange

Following the rapid rise of the handloom weaving industry in Newtown

Find out more

The Long Bridge

From about the fourteenth century the river was crossed at this point by a wooden bridge.

Find out more

Motte and Bailey

In the 13th century King Edward I granted a charter to Roger Mortimer of Wigmore Castle to establish a new town

Find out more

WH Smiths

The Newtown branch of WH Smith at 24 High Street is a unique surprise among the company’s many shops.

Find out more

Town Clock

The Cross Buildings stand at the end of the High Street link at its junction with Broad Street

Find out more

Textile Museum

The museum gives visitors a chance to see how the handloom weavers of the mid-19th century lived and worked

Find out more

Halfpenny Bridge

A wooden footbridge was built across the river some yards upstream of the present bridge in the early nineteenth century

Find out more

Brisco House

This building was erected as a free public library in 1903 on a site gifted by Mrs Frances Arbuthnot-Brisco

Find out more

Newtown Heritage Trail

Follow the trail and take the time to be introduced to local characters such as John Roberts, the Romani Gypsy harpist who was famed as the country’s leading performer on the Welsh triple harp.

Discover how King Edward 1 granted a charter to Roger Mortimer of Wigmore Castle to establish a new town in the Manor of Cedewain, Newtown, as it quickly became known. A real gem for locals and visitors alike to visit and marvel at the remains of the Motte and Bailey built in the 13th Century.

There is something for everyone on this fascinating journey through the ages, enjoy at your own pace and discover even more interesting facts by exploring the links provided on each plaque.


Sir Pryce-Jones (1834-1920)

Pioneer of the first international mail order business, his name became a trademark of Newtown

Read More »

John Roberts

The Romani Gypsy harpist was born in 1816 and famed as the country’s leading performer on the Welsh triple harp

Read More »

Robert Owens Tomb

St Mary’s church was built in the 13th century and was Newtown’s parish church for 500 years.

Read More »

The Market Hall

Many were not happy and the scene that followed was one of chaos with crowds shouting

Read More »

The Horse Market

The area called the Horse Market extended from the far end of Market Street to where the Post Office now is

Read More »

The Oriel Gallery

Presenting world-class, thought-provoking and challenging art in an environment that is welcoming, engaging, informative and free

Read More »

The Flannel Exchange

Following the rapid rise of the handloom weaving industry in Newtown

Read More »

The Long Bridge

From about the fourteenth century the river was crossed at this point by a wooden bridge.

Read More »

Motte and Bailey

In the 13th century King Edward I granted a charter to Roger Mortimer of Wigmore Castle to establish a new town

Read More »

WH Smiths

The Newtown branch of WH Smith at 24 High Street is a unique surprise among the company’s many shops.

Read More »

Town Clock

The Cross Buildings stand at the end of the High Street link at its junction with Broad Street

Read More »

Textile Museum

The museum gives visitors a chance to see how the handloom weavers of the mid-19th century lived and worked

Read More »

Halfpenny Bridge

A wooden footbridge was built across the river some yards upstream of the present bridge in the early nineteenth century

Read More »

Brisco House

This building was erected as a free public library in 1903 on a site gifted by Mrs Frances Arbuthnot-Brisco

Read More »

Follow Newtown