At the Newtown & Llanllwchaiarn Council meeting on Monday evening, 25th July 2022, four new councillors were co-opted.  The vacant seats on the North, East, West and Central wards have now been filled, taking the Council to 14 Members. Nominations will be invited for an election to fill the two remaining vacancies in South ward in September. 

Joining Newtown & Llanllwchaiarn Town Council are:  

  • North Ward – Cllr Lee Menzel  
  • East Ward – Cllr Chris Jones  
  • West Ward – Cllr Margaret Lewington  
  • Central Ward – Cllr Jack Lewis  

Ed Humphreys Town Clerk comments “At the elections last May there were insufficient numbers of candidates for election; ten councillors were elected unopposed, but six vacancies remained to which the council may co-opt. People seem interested in the work of the town council, but it is not reflected in the numbers who stood for election to do the work of a town councillor. Of course, it’s not for everyone, and people often make constructive contributions in other ways.  

Co-option is the usual way to fill such post-election vacancies and public notice was given. There were six applicants for co-option to four seats. Thank you to all six for their interest and congratulations and welcome to the four on their co-option.” 

Follow Newtown